Trove: to the net-heavy balance on the class’ power

More feedback after spending a day grinding on it. The dino summons die waaay too easily. I summoned 3, and they were all killed by 1 trash mob in u9. They also don’t deal much DPS. They’re barely worth tossing out.

I would recommend making them tankier, and removing the despawn timer. Allow them to stay up until they die. For a class called Dino Tamer, I barely get to see my dinos. I’d also make it so that their attack speed scales with the class, so that they can actually deal some DPS.

Another issue I’ve found with the Tamer, due mostly to the net-heavy balance on the class’ power, is it’s extreme power in PvP. The net is capable of heavy damage, meaning that even touching the net leads to extreme damage, and if the Dino Tamer is firing on a target it usually leads to a kill. The passive and Dino Buddies are pretty worthless in PvP, being largely ignored compared to the deadly net. The net’s power is further compounded when the Tamer uses his ultimate, which more than doubles it’s damage, leading to buy trove items with the net being a near instant kill for many classes, especially when combined with the increased power on normal shots. On top of this, the Dino Mount makes the Tamer the fastest character in the game, which can also carry the flag, meaning a Tamer can ult, grab the flag, and run off at double the speed of any other class, while still able to attack and fire his lethal nets. Rebalancing the class around his Dino Buddy summons as I posted earlier would likely help most of these problems, but stopping a mounted Dino Tamer from grabbing the flag wouldn’t hurt.

I think the balance is pretty good fro Dino tamer, I have gunslinger level 26 7k PR. Swapping my gear over to my 25 Dino Tamer giving 6.8kPR. I would say that my Dino Tamer does slightly more single target damage (Could argue that there is a bit of spread… as im talking net) and can potentially outdamage my gunslinger but takes a bit of skill, has to be close range (compared to gunslinger) and aim my right click well.

My gunslinger damage is generally more consistent, I just hold down fire and tap ulti every now and then, i can sit halfway across the room and have a great escape (1) to avoid damage.

Gunslinger VS Dino tamer?? IMO the dino tamer has potential to do higher damage but is trickier to Buy Trove Flux, Gunslinger has more consistent damage with minimal skill/tactics required.

I would say for this reason its fairly balanced, If the dino tamer did less damage than what it does… it wouldn’t be worth the extra hassle/close combat and skill required to play… you might as well just play gunslinger.

I would also add that regardless of damage/balance ect, im having alot of fun playing the class. Its quite an interesting one. Though I was shocked to find that Dino tamer uses a gun?. A gun is futuristic? I would of expected him to use a spear or bow or something prehistoric.

Leave a Reply

